2018 Meitar Award for Excellence in Photography

The Meitar Award, a collaboration between PHOTO IS:RAEL and the Zvi and Ofra Meitar Family Fund, is awarded for a body of work which demonstrates originality and excellence in the field of photography.
A jury of leading professionals from all over the world has reviewed over 500 submissions anonymously. This year for the first time, the finalist exhibition will continue and travel to be exhibited in Sydney, Australia at the Head On festival in May 2019.

David Adika, Photographer and head of the Photography Department at Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem
Micha Bar-Am, Photographer, Magnum Correspondent since 1968
Maya Benton, Consulting Curator, International Center of Photography, New York
Dr. Noam Gal, Horace and Grace Goldsmith Curator, Noel and Harriette Levine Department of Photography, The Israel Museum, Jerusalem
Kristen Gresh, Estrellita and Yousuf Karsh Curator of Photographs at Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Daphna Meitar-Nechmad, The Zvi and Ophra Meitar Foundation
Clement Saccomani, Photographer, Managing Director, NOOR, Netherlands
Rivka Saker, Chairman Sotheby’s Israel, Founder and board chair of Artis
Raz Samira, Chief Photography Curator, Tel Aviv Museum of Art


Photo: Fabian Muir

The twenty finalists are:
Karina Bikbulatova (Russia) Alfredo Bosco (Italy) Michal Chelbin (Israel) Megan E. Doherty (USA) Rory Doyle (USA) John Paul Evans (UK) Alex Farfuri (Israel) Sagit Fridman-Hallel (Israel) Matthew Genitempo (USA) Naomi Harris (Canada) Giovanni Maggiora (France) Andriy Malakhovskyy (Israel) Fabian Muir (Australia) Marc Ohrem-Leclef (USA) Camillo Pasquarelli (Italy) Fausto Podavini (Italy) Anastasia Samoylova (USA) Alessio Maximilian Schroder (Italy/Austria) Jens Schwarz (Germany) Viktoria Sorochinski (Canada)

Maya Anner

WhatsApp Logo