2021 Meitar Award for Excellence in Photography

The International Photography Festival is proud to present the 20 Finalists of the 2021 Meitar Award for Excellence in Photography

The Meitar Award for Excellence in Photography, a collaboration between PHOTO IS:RAEL and the Zvi and Ofra Meitar Family Fund, will be awarded for the sixth time this year to a photographer whose works demonstrate originality and excellence in the field of photography. This exhibition features the works of the 20 award finalists, who were selected anonymously by an international jury of leading professionals from among the 350 submissions received from around the world. The jury sought photographers whose works demonstrated a unique and interesting personal style and selected those who showcased excellence, quality, originality and the potential to present the project in a solo exhibition. The winner will be announced in an online event during the 9th International Photography Festival, and will be awarded a 50,000 shekel grant for a solo exhibition at the 10th International Photography Festival.

The Zvi and Ofra Meitar Family Fund sponsors a wide range of bodies and activities pertaining to education and culture in Israel and overseas. The Fund was established by Zvi Meitar in 2004 with the aim of supporting young outstanding people and promoting selected projects.


Members of the Jury:

Scott Gray, CEO of the World Photography Organisation & Angus Montgomery Arts
Sigalit Landau, Artist
Dafna Meitar Nechmad, The Zvi and Ofra Meitar Family Fund
Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, Art Director and Chief Representative, Leica Galleries International (Austria)
Dr.h.c Avi Sabag, Founder & Director, Musrara, The Naggar School of Art and Society, Jerusalem
Rivka Saker, Chairman of Sotheby’s Israel, Founder and board chair of ARTIS
Enrico Stefanelli, Founder and Artistic Director, Photolux Festival in Lucca, Tuscany, Italy
István Virágvölgyi, Curator, photo editor, Secretary of the Capa Grand Prize, Hungary
Eric Vroons, Editor-at-large for GUP and Chief Editor for the print edition of GUP Magazine.

Top Photo:Aki & Astrid Sinikoski

The twenty finalists are:
Silvia Alessi | Italy
Ittai Bar-Joseph | Israel
Claire Beckett | USA
Davide Bertuccio | Italy
Kerry J. Dean | United Kingdom
Colin Delfosse | Belgium
Andrew Feiler | USA
Pang Hai | China
Edgar Martins | United Kingdom
Dan Nelken | USA
Cletus Nelson Nwadike | Nigeria/Sweden
Laura Pannack | United Kingdom
Saja Quttaineh | Palestinian from East Jerusalem
Amanda Rowan | USA
Alain Schroeder | Belgium
Aki & Astrid Sinikoski | Finland
Alnis Stakle | Latvia
Mouneb Taim | Syria/Turkey
Sabine van Wechem | Netherlands
Mugur Varzariu | Romania

WhatsApp Logo